Presidential Poll-Jagan Approaches EC

 >> Home  >> Tamil Latest  >>  >> andhra_pradesh News   >> Presidential Poll-Jagan Approaches EC

   (2012-07-11 00:00:00)

HYDERABAD:Kadapa MP Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy, now in Chanchalguda central prison, has requested the Election Commission to permit him to cast his vote in Andhra Pradesh for the upcoming Presidential elections.

He sent a formal request in the prescribed format to the Election Commission on Tuesday. The EC is expected to intimate the Assistant Returning Officer, Legislature Secretary S. Rajasadaram in this case, for making necessary arrangements for voting.

Mr. Rajasadaram that no communication had been received so far from the EC on Jagan’s request. It would probably be communicated at the time of handing over of the list of electors.

The request was made under the Rule 7 of the Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections Rules, 1974, that permits the electors, the MPs who could not be present in New Delhi on the polling date to opt for exercising the right to vote at any of the polling places situated in the State/Union Territory of Puducherry/NCT of Delhi.

Jagan, now in jail for the last 45 days in connection with the disproportionate assets case, has been out of public domain and has participated in the proceedings of the court through video-conference facility. The request would, however, make the authorities to make special arrangements to bring Jagan to the Assembly to cast his vote. Sources said the MP opted for Rule 7 as he would not be entitled to exercise his vote through postal ballot which is restricted to those under Preventive Detention. The rule specifies the member to make a formal request that he/she does not intend to vote at the polling station in the Parliament House, but intends to cast vote in one of the State capitals as specified by the member “not later than 10 days before the polling date”.

Meanwhile, the Legislature authorities are making arrangements for smooth conduct of the election on July 19. The polling station will be set up at Committee Hall No.1 of the Assembly. Officials of the Legislature Secretariat and the office of the Chief Electoral Officer will leave for New Delhi on July 15 to collect the list of electors and ballots, designed separately for MPs and MLAs.